Welcome to the new Pie and Beer! I’ve been meaning to get this up and running for months now, and I finally realized that the key to switching over to a new blogging format while maintaining my sanity was just deleting the old posts and starting all over rather than laboring over each screwy image and bad line break in the new layout. You’ll still find the old Pie and Beer archive over at the old address, though, so all is not lost. There are a couple of posts below that you might not have seen yet; scroll down and check them out if you’d like. I’ll be posting here more often now that I like the way this blog is looking (for the most part; there are still some things about WordPress I don’t understand at all, and you’ll see plenty of evidence of that fact).

Meanwhile, I thought I’d share a few pictures from our summer drive out through western and northern Nebraska. Our collective view of Nebraska tends to be fairly limited to the way the word Nebraska is used as a metonym for Nowhere: corn, soybeans, corn, soybeans, flat, endless, boring. I’m finding that there’s somewhat more to it than that. For example, I had no idea that Crown Royal was so big here.